Corky Laing’s Mountain - Live in Belgium 2019 (CD)

Corky Laing’s Mountain - Live in Belgium 2019 (CD)

OSR003

Regular price €14,95
/
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Corky Laing, the last member of the original Mountain formation, has been continuing the legacy of one of the first hard rock bands with Corky Laing's Mountain since 2015. Recorded in Belgium in 2019, the live album looks back on the greatest hits of the band Mountain, which was founded 50 years earlier and to which Laing quickly joined. It's a kind of anniversary album in which the band around Laing has once again recorded a greatest hits live album.
Most of the songs come from the band's most successful phase at the beginning of the 70s, whereby the set list is also peppered with songs like "Long Red" from Leslie West's solo album "Mountain" or "Why Dotcha", which West, Bruce & Laing released , after Mountain split for the first time in just a few years.
With Mark Mikel, Laing has brought a bassist into the band, who also takes on the lead vocals in most songs and, vocally and in terms of bass playing, is a worthy heir to Felix Pappalardi, who was taken from his life early on. Richie Scarlet also shows on the guitar that he is an expert in his field and shines with sometimes brute style of play but also with ballad-like pieces such as "Theme From An Imaginary Western", which was written by Jack Bruce, with a soulful and warm style of play.
What has remained hidden for a long time is that Laing is not only an excellent hard rock drummer, he can also sing and contributes the lead vocals on some songs. The Dylan cover "Like A Rollin' Stone" is humorous, where he almost only accompanies himself with the drums.
The power trio shows that Mountain was rightly called one of the first hard rock bands, especially with the two hits "Mississippi Queen" with the introductory cowbells and "Never In My Life", which makes the hearts of rock fans beat faster and also the timelessness of many of Mountain's songs, including the lyrically rather somber "Nantucket Sleighride", for which Laing compares whalers and musicians who wanted too much and were torn down or disappeared into nothingness.
With this album, which is also technically well produced, Laing shows that Mountain's music has not disappeared into obscurity, but is kept alive by the band. One can quote a line from Laing's compatriot, Neil Young, in this regard: "Rock 'n' Roll Will Never Die".

01 Dreams Of Milk And Honey / Blood Of The Sun
02 Travellin’ The Dark
03 Long Red
04 Beautiful Flies
05 Theme From An Imaginary Western
06 Why Dontcha
07 Mississippi Queen
08 Never In My Life
09 Nantucket Sleighride
10 Like A Rollin’ Stone
11 For Yasgur’s Farm
12 Sitting On A Rainbow
13 Going Home
14 Silver Paper

Corky Laing’s Mountain - Live in Belgium 2019 (CD)

Corky Laing’s Mountain - Live in Belgium 2019 (CD)

OSR003

Normaler Preis €14,95
/
inkl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten

Corky Laing, das letzte Mitglied der Urformation von Mountain lässt mit Corky Laing`s Mountain seit 2015 das Erbe einer der ersten Hardrock-Bands weiterleben. Das 2019 in Belgien aufgenommene Livealbum blickt auf die größten Hits der Band Mountain zurück, welche 50 Jahre zuvor gegründet worden ist und zu welcher Laing schon nach kurzer Zeit hinzustieß. Es handelt sich um eine Art Jubiläumsalbum, in dem die Band um Laing noch einmal ein Greatest Hits Livealbum eingespielt hat.
Die meisten Songs stammen aus der erfolgreichsten Phase der Band zu Beginn der 70er Jahre, wobei die Setlist auch gespickt ist mit Songs wie „Long Red“ von Leslie Wests Soloalbum „Mountain“ oder auch „Why Dotcha“, was West, Bruce & Laing herausbrachten, nachdem Mountain sich nach nur wenigen Jahren das erste Mal getrennt hatten.
Mit Mark Mikel hat Laing einen Bassisten in die Band geholt, der in den meisten Songs auch die Leadvocals übernimmt und stimmlich, wie vom Bassspiel her ein würdiges Erbe des schon früh aus dem Leben gerissenen Felix Pappalardi antritt. Auch Richie Scarlet zeigt an der Gitarre, dass er ein Könner seines Fachs ist und glänzt mit zuweilen brachialer Spielart aber auch bei den balladesken Stücken wie z.B. „Theme From An Imaginary Western“, welches von Jack Bruce geschrieben wurde, mit einer gefühlvollen warmen Spielart.
Was vielen lange verborgen geblieben ist, dass Laing nicht nur ein hervorragender Hardrock-Drummer ist, er kann auch singen und steuert bei einigen Songs die Leadvocals bei. Launig ist dabei das Dylan Cover „Like A Rollin` Stone“ wo er sich fast erzählend nur mit dem Schlagzeug begleitet.
Das Mountain nicht zu Unrecht als eine der ersten Hardrock-Bands bezeichnet wurde zeigt das Powertrio insbesondere bei den beiden Krachern „Mississippi Queen“ mit den einläutenden Cowbells und „Never In My Life“, was die Herzen von Rockfans höher schlagen lässt und auch die Zeitlosigkeit vieler Songs von Mountain zeigt zu denen auch das textlich eher düstere Nantucket Sleighride“ zählt, zu dem Laing den Vergleich von Walfängern und Musikern aufstellt, welche zu viel wollten und in die Tiefe gerissen worden sind oder im Nichts verschwanden.
Mit diesem, auch tontechnisch gut produzierten, Album zeigt Laing, dass die Musik von Mountain nicht in der Versenkung verschwunden ist, sondern von der Band weiter am Leben gehalten wird. Man kann in dieser Hinsicht eine Textzeile eines Landsmanns von Laing, Neil Young zitieren: „Rock 'n' Roll Will Never Die“.

01 Dreams Of Milk And Honey / Blood Of The Sun
02 Travellin’ The Dark
03 Long Red
04 Beautiful Flies
05 Theme From An Imaginary Western
06 Why Dontcha
07 Mississippi Queen
08 Never In My Life
09 Nantucket Sleighride
10 Like A Rollin’ Stone
11 For Yasgur’s Farm
12 Sitting On A Rainbow
13 Going Home
14 Silver Paper