Incredible Pack - Packed In Blue (CD)

Incredible Pack - Packed In Blue (CD)

OSR011

Regular price €14,95
/
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

In 2017, three German rock icons met at Incredible Pack and dedicated themselves to the blues. In 2020 the band decided to record their debut album "Packed In Blue".
Already the first sounds of the first song "DOA" show what to expect on the record. The first guitar sounds are accompanied by a rattle and a mood is created that transports the listener mentally into the vastness of Texas. From this a blues piece develops in the direction of the Little Ol` Band. Martelle's rough, rather spoken style of singing, guitar riffs and solos are stylistically reminiscent of ZZ Top. The dynamic song is supported by Manni von Bohr working on the drums and the bubbling bass, played by Tony Spagone, who also form a strong rhythm section in the other songs, played to the point.
The high level of the opener is not left in the further course of the disc, and stylistically the rather rough blues rock made in Texas is the defining element. With the exception of a few cover songs, most of it came from the pen of Martelle, the fronter of the band, who was also responsible for the production in the Frankfurt Jungle Studios. Only with the Bowie cover "Rebel Rebel" with a psychedelic intro and a first verse, which seems to be sung from beyond the grave, the blues is a little behind and a rocking version of the classic develops. With the album, Martelle, after having been active in German rock for a long time as an active part of the Jule Neigel Band, has arrived where his real musical love is, blues rock.
The strong debut of the band ends with the blues classic "Bullfrog Blues", which Martelle announces in the intro as an often covered song.
It is positive that the interspersed cover songs do not serve to spice up the record, but rather represent an addition to their own blues songs, in which Martelle also shows his qualities in songwriting.
It will be interesting when the power trio can finally present the songs live, as it is material that gives a lot of leeway for free musical development.
Blues and rock fans will like the album, where three "oldies" show with a lot of playfulness that they are far from old and that blues made in Germany can also be of high quality!
(Text: Gernot Mangold)

01 DOA
02 I Wanna Know
03 Ain’t Taking No Hit
04 Hooked On You
05 Loveblind
06 What’s That Sound
07 Take It Out On Me
08 Alone In The Dark
09 Alligator
10 Endless Brighter Days
11 Rebel Rebel
12 Bullfrog Blues

Incredible Pack - Packed In Blue (CD)

Incredible Pack - Packed In Blue (CD)

OSR011

Normaler Preis €14,95
/
inkl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten

Bei Incredible Pack haben sich 2017 drei deutsche Rockikonen gefunden und sich dem Blues gewidmet. 2020 hat die Band sich entschlossen das Debutalbum „Packed In Blue“ einzuspielen.
Schon die ersten Klänge des ersten Songs „DOA“ zeigen, was einen auf der Platte erwartet. Zu den ersten Gitarrenklängen gesellt sich ein Rasseln und es wird eine Stimmung erzeugt, die den Zuhörer gedanklich in die Weiten von Texas versetzt. Daraus entwickelt sich ein Bluesstück in Richtung der Little Ol` Band. Martelles rauer eher gesprochener Gesangsstil, Gitarrenriffs und Soli erinnern stilistisch an ZZ Top. Unterstützt wird der dynamische Song von am Schlagzeug ackernden Manni von Bohr und dem blubbernden Bass, gespielt von Tony Spagone, die auch bei den restlichen Songs, auf den Punkt gespielt, eine starke Rhythmusfraktion bilden.
Das hohe Niveau des Openers wird im weiteren Verlauf der Scheibe auch nicht mehr verlassen, und stilistisch ist der eher raue Bluesrock made in Texas das prägende Element. Bis auf wenige Coversongs stammt das Meiste aus der Feder von Martelle, dem Fronter der Band, welcher auch für die Produktion in den Frankfurter Jungle Studios verantwortlich war. Einzig beim Bowie Cover „Rebel Rebel“ mit psychedelischem Intro und einer ersten Strophe, welche scheinbar aus dem Jenseits gesungen wird, steht der Blues eher hinten an und es entwickelt sich eine rockige Version des Klassikers. Martelle ist mit dem Album, nachdem er unter Anderem, auch als aktiver Part der Jule Neigel Band lange im Deutschrock tätig war, dort angekommen, wo seine eigentliche musikalische Liebe ist, dem Bluesrock.
Abgeschlossen wird der starke Erstling der Band mit dem Bluesklassiker „Bullfrog Blues“ den Martelle im Intro sinngemäß als oft gecoverten Song ankündigt.
Positiv ist, dass die eingestreuten Coversongs nicht dazu dienen die Platte aufzupeppen, sondern eher eine Ergänzung der eigenen Bluessongs darstellen, bei denen Martelle auch seine Qualitäten im Songwriting zeigt.
Interessant wird es sein, wenn das Powertrio die Songs endlich live präsentieren kann, da es sich um Material handelt, welches viel Spielraum für freie musikalische Entfaltung gibt.
Blues und Rockfans werden an dem Album Gefallen finden, wo drei „Oldies“ mit viel Spiellaune zeigen, dass sie noch lange nicht zum alten Eisen zählen, und Blues made in Germany auch eine hohe Qualität haben kann!
(Text: Gernot Mangold)

01 DOA
02 I Wanna Know
03 Ain’t Taking No Hit
04 Hooked On You
05 Loveblind
06 What’s That Sound
07 Take It Out On Me
08 Alone In The Dark
09 Alligator
10 Endless Brighter Days
11 Rebel Rebel
12 Bullfrog Blues